Waitukubuli National Trail, Dominica

Destined to quickly become one of the great walks of the world, Waitukubuli in the Caribbean is “opening soon” … though some hikers have already pieced it together, unofficially.

Dominica, the Caribbean’s Nature Island, is looking to share its beauty with hikers through the development of a 115-mile cross-island walking trail. The Waitukubuli National Trail – named after the Carib Indian name for Dominica – is a major initiative by the Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica, in partnership with the Regional Council of Martinique and funded by the European Union.

The Waitukubuli National Trail is divided into 14 continuous sections. Hikers can expect to cover its entire length in two weeks, or just choose individual trail segments to enjoy. The trail passes through mountainous landscapes and rainforests, showcasing the rivers and waterfalls for which Dominica is famous and taking visitors into the heart of local communities.

Here, Ashton Lugay of the Waitukubuli National Trail Project explains how the trail is being developed and the impact it will have on Dominica’s tourism industry.

Click PLAY or watch it on YouTube.

7 Replies to “Waitukubuli National Trail, Dominica”

    1. wakas get in touch with me you are now Dominica first global superstar keep up the good work. Iam thinking of coming home for a long time I have just got to sort out my uk passport

  1. I love the layout of your blog. It has a great blend of textual, video, & photographic.
    I just read an article in Budget Travel about the Waitukubuli National Trail.
    I’m glad I checked it out and found this blog.

  2. this hike was the best i have ever been on also knowing a few new places in my country was not bad at all loved it 🙂

  3. We have the last section next to us. Many times I drive the guests up to Penneville and then they hike to Capuchin a wonderful hike of 4 hours. A local fisherman then picks them up and delivers them (after a great day snorkeling) back at our resort.

    Thank God for the Waitukubuli trail.

  4. Thanks for the excellent info regarding Waitukubuli National Trail! My wife was just accepted at Ross University School of Medicine, thus will be moving there in Sept. 2012. Since, I won’t really be able to work while there, I have been pondering possible hobbies to acquire. Fortunately, this blog has helped me pinpoint it as hiking, Once again, thanks much. If you have any suggestions regarding hiking on the Waitukubuli trail, please feel free to post on my blog:
    http://abominablesnowmanadventuresindominca.com/

    It will be greatly appreciated! Also, what would you recommend I get for clothes and equipment to hike there?

    Thanks,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.